Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How do we fight? October 25, 2008

Michelle raised a very interesting question in her comment on Natural Foods Not So Natural.  I found my response to be a little to long for the comment section, so I decided to write a note on it.  Her question was, do we fight the big businesses that put unnecessary chemicals and sugars into our food, or do we spread awareness as much as we can?

I prefer to spread awareness and cook/prepare good food for people.  My mother now spreads the word on how bad aspartame is and Ali shies away from buying certain brands of almonds that have added smoke flavor.  I think this is so awesome.  (Yay! I’m not just a crazy granola head!  People listen to me!)

Going up against big businesses wouldn’t be easy, honestly I don’t know how that would be done.  The problem is that food additives like high fructose corn syrup, natural and artificial flavors are so cheap that not only companies like McDonald’s use them, but companies that produce wholesome foods do as well.  Products that are labeled organic often contain natural flavors.  My beloved Amy’s Organic veggie burgers have natural hickory flavor 😦   This is because to be labeled “organic” 95% of the ingredients have to be organic.  Every single soy butter product that I have come across is made with natural flavors.  So, when I can, I will be making my own.  That is how I choose to fight Michelle 🙂

Here is the recipe if anyone is interested, it’s really quick and easy.

Ironically the recipe is called Michelle’s Better Butter (but it’s by Michelle Cook not my sis)

  • 1/2 cup organic extra-virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup organic cold-pressed flax seed oil

Melt the coconut oil in a small saucepan until it has liquefied.  Immediately mix it with the flax seed oil, stir until well it is mixed.  Transfer the liquid to a container and place it in the fridge.  You can store this for up to six months!

OK, so this butter is kinda nutty, but so am I.  I’m sure some of you react to the thought of eating flax seed oil similarly to the way my sister and I used to feel about peas.   But honestly, it’s a lot more appetizing than peas are to an 8 year old.  So, I’ll do my best to sell this to you.

This butter is wonderful because it’s delicious and it melts just like butter made from dairy.   It’s also packed with omega 3 and 6 essential fatty acids.  These fatty acids are “essential” because the body requires these nutrients for proper functioning, but we are unable to produce them ourselves and must obtain them through our diet.  These are the only two fatty acids that the body can not produce, which makes this butter very convenient.

Maybe you’re like my mom and absolutely in love with butter, but maybe you’ll try it at least once 🙂

 

4 Responses to “How do we fight?”

  1. Ashley Says:

    The recipe sounds good, I’d like to try it as I’d like to use soy butter less. Cool!

  2. rethinkfood Says:

    Awesome, let me know what you think 🙂

  3. Andrew Says:

    More Recipes!

  4. Mommy Says:

    My daughter is so smart


Leave a Reply

