Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hummus Recipe! December 12, 2008

Filed under: Dips and Spreads,Gluten Free,Recipes — Yvette @ 8:19 pm

Hummus is another staple food that doesn’t take too long to make and is healthy and delicious.  Hummus can be used as a dip for chips, crackers and veggies.  It also spices up sandwiches and wraps.  I use it as a base for my pizzas when I make them at home!

You’ll need:

  • 1 15 ounce can of garbanzo beans or *2 cups of cashews
  • 1/4 cup of tahini
  • 1 tbs of lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 2 cloves of garlic chopped or minced
  • 1/4 tsp of cumin
  • 1/4 tsp of cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp of sea salt
  • a few dashes of pepper

Throw all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.

Now for some bathroom talk, we all know beans make you gassy.  There is even a wonderful song about how they make you fart.  But, don’t worry garbanzos usually produce the least amount of gas among all beans. Enjoy!

*So I’ve decided to add a little note here.  You can substitute cashews for the beans if you have trouble digesting all beans.  It doesn’t taste exactly the same, but it’s definitely still very good.  I substitute cashews all the time because my body likes nuts more than beans.

 

8 Responses to “Hummus Recipe!”

  1. eatincalgary Says:

    any idea for how long u need to boil the chickpeas (garbanzo beans) if you don’t wanna buy the canned ones? i’ve tried boiling them once, and it didn’t work well…

  2. Andrew Says:

    Beans beans the musical fruit,
    the more you eat, the more you toot!

  3. Yvette Says:

    There might be two reasons the chickpeas are causing you difficulty. One, you should soak your beans overnight before you cook them. Or, if you do soak them and the beans didn’t cook well then they probably have gone bad/rancid. I’m guessing the latter was the case, so don’t give up! Hope that helps, if you have any more questions feel free to ask!

  4. Yvette Says:

    I guess boil them for about an hour and check to see if they are edible? If it takes more than three hours than they’ve probably gone bad and you’ll need a new batch.

  5. dad Says:

    Can you provide a little information on the nutritional value of domestic beer and scotch. And do you have any recipes that include either? Also, if you have a few recipes that require white wine so I can get rid of some cheap white wine I acquired.

    Smile, but i am serious!!!

  6. Yvette Says:

    I would steer away from thinking of beer or liquor as having a nutritional quality. There are a lot of carbs and consuming too many will dehydrate you because of the high alcohol content.
    Honestly if you have one beer or drink with dinner that’s perfectly healthy, it’s even better if you drink red wine.
    As for using up the white wine, I’d recommend putting it in a garlic sauce for some pasta. Put in equal amounts of wine as water. Make sure you bring the wine to a boil to get rid of the alcohol. I wing it everytime I make pasta sauce, so if you need a clearer recipe just ask and I’ll try and formulate one.

  7. Michelle Says:

    i don’t know about that “least amount of gas” business. my experience would prove otherwise. 😉

  8. Yvette Says:

    So what you can do if you really like hummus, but can’t take beans is use cashews instead. I know it sounds weird, but it comes out fine and my body likes it a lot better. I’ll make a note in the recipe because I’m sure a lot of other people have difficulty digesting all beans.


Leave a Reply

