Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

MSG – monosodium glutamate March 8, 2009

Filed under: Carcinogens,Flavorings,Food Additives — Yvette @ 3:23 am

I vaguely remember being in a Chinese restaurant during the 90’s when my mother asked for no MSG in our food.  This may have been during the time people started to realize how addicting MSG can be.  When  companies and restaurants find legal addictive substances you can be sure they will start adding it to our food to keep us coming back for more.

MSG is like crack, it’s an extremely addictive and harmful food additive.  MSG can also be labeling under “natural flavorings” which is why you need to be careful of the ingredient natural flavors, as I’ve said before.  The FDA forces companies to list monosodium glutamate as additive because of the adverse effects it causes in a good portion of the population.  The problem is that a good amount of people do not read the ingredients on their food labels.

I happen to be an avid label reader, even of foods I do not eat (this annoys the crap out of my mother).  I thought that MSG would have been banned by now because of how harmful it can be, but I have found through occasionally reading labels that MSG aka monosodium glutamate is still being put into foods.  I personally have found this ingredient in a lot of popular canned soups like Progresso and Campbells, not all of them, but some.  So be conscious consumers and read your ingredients!

* I just found MSG in Triscuits 😦

 

2 Responses to “MSG – monosodium glutamate”

  1. Dr. Pepper Says:

    Rethink,

    I find you blog so powerful because you take the time to explain why certain foods are harmful and what are the chemical effect of putting them in your body. In this case, I would love to know what makes MSG addictive.


Leave a Reply

