Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Haitus January 22, 2010

Filed under: My story — Yvette @ 4:51 pm

Hello, everyone!  I know my posts have slacked for about a year and I really apologize.  I owe this to new love in my life and moving into a raw food diet.  I had been reading a lot of nutrition literature and found it was time to move into a raw vegan diet.  The journey over the past 9 months has been amazing and I have learned a lot about my own body and what it needs.

This is something I want to invite everyone to do.  Food labels indicate RDA, and doctors and friends tell us we need protein, we need calcium we need iron…  We all have a general idea of what is healthy for our bodies, and if you don’t please ask!  We need to learn to be our own nutritionist, our own doctors.  When I was finding out about my onion allergy a nurse told me to drink gingerale.  I was dumbfounded…I knew she meant well, because ginger soothes the stomach.  But gingerale these days contains no ginger.  Why am I going to put bubbly chemical water into my body when my stomach is already in pain, how is that going to help?  You shouldn’t, instead make some ginger tea or apple juice with ginger.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t listen to anyone else, but we shouldn’t blindly follow advice without paying attention to what our bodies are feeling.  Every body is composed differently.  Although onions and garlic can be very medicinal, my stomach is ripped to shreds by them.  So, pay attention to how your body feels after you eat.

 

One Response to “Haitus”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Yay!!! You’re back!


Leave a Reply

