Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

White Rice vs. Brown Rice February 7, 2010

Filed under: Health Facts and Concerns,Health Tips — Yvette @ 2:48 am

As I’m sure you’ve gathered by now I am extremely picky about my food.  Occasionally I go out to eat and I’m VERY particular about this.  Lately I have been frustrated with the fact that practically no restaurants serve brown rice.  Right now my mother would argue that ‘there really isn’t a huge difference.’  I guess this may be a matter of opinion…it just depends how picky you are.

White rice and brown rice have similar amounts of calories, carbs and proteins.  But in the process of making brown rice into white the omega fatty acids are destroyed and the bran is removed.  The Omega 3’s that everyone’s ranting and raving that you MUST get into your diet…are gone.  The iron, magnesium, and b vitamins are also destroyed.

White rice can also store for up to 20 years…and brown rice can store for about 6-12 months.  I view this as evidence that white rice is not really food.  REAL food spoils…processed food doesn’t age…similar to the McDonald’s hamburger.  No worries, I don’t put white rice and McDonald’s on the same level…I just view white rice as a filler, something to take up space in your stomach.

I understand that white rice is very convenient; it stores longer and it costs less.  However those are not the rules which define my eating habits, which is why I don’t eat my side of white rice.

 

Leave a Reply

