Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stuffed Acorn Squash March 31, 2010

Filed under: Appetizers/Entrees,Gluten Free,Recipes — Yvette @ 12:55 am
Tags: , , , ,

This dish was inspired by a meal that I had at Josie’s in the city.  It’s a organic sustainable restaurant that serves delicious foods.  It’s a good place to go when you are with someone who isn’t so comfortable with vegan restaurants.  There are several good vegan selections and all their food is carefully made and well-presented. I loved the meal I had there so much even a year later I can remember what I had!  So I had Dwight make something similar, and would like to share the recipe with all of you 🙂  This is basically acorn squash stuffed with brown rice or quinoa and steamed veggies.

https://i2.wp.com/media.rd.com/rd/images/rdc/books/eat-to-beat-diabetes/rice-stuffed-squash-af.jpg

Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 1 cup brown rice or quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 head of broccoli

Directions:

  1. Turn the oven to 400 degrees.  Slice open the acorn squash and take out the seeds and pulp.  Place a tablespoon of water and a spoonful of coconut oil in the center of each half.  Place this in the oven for about an hour.
  2. Put 1 cup of brown rice and 2 cups water in a pot.  Bring to a boil, then let it simmer until the water is absorbed.
  3. You will only need about 10 minutes to steam or saute the broccoli and kale.  So 45-50 minutes later you will want to either place the veggies in a steamer or saute the broccoli and kale.  (Also you can put in whatever veggies you want)
  4. Once everything is cooked layer the rice and veggies on top of each half and serve.  To get the full experience you’ll want to mix the pulp of the acorn squash in with the veggies and brown rice.

If you don’t have a steamer it is no biggie.  Steaming is less damaging to the vegetables, but lightly sauteed veggies are good as well.  You can make a sauce to go along with this dish, but the acorn squash is sweet enough it isn’t necessary.

Enjoy!

 

8 Responses to “Stuffed Acorn Squash”

  1. This looks delicious! (Even though I have flatly refused to try acorn squash :D) Maybe I should try it… Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yvette Says:

    Well it is delicious and very few ingredients. I glanced at your blog, if I can modify the recipe in any way for you let me know. I have a lot of digestive problems as well, I am still trying to figure out what works for me. I’m better than I was five years ago, but still have a lot to learn!

    • Aww, that’s so sweet of you! The only thing I can’t have in the recipe is the rice. What do you think might be a good substitute?

      My diet is strict, but so liberating that I won’t ever go back to “normal” eating. I hope you stay well!

  3. Yvette Says:

    You can substitute millet, it is a very sweet grain. You can also substitute with quinoa or amaranth. Unless you can’t have grains, then I’d say just throw in a bunch of veggies. You could use a grater to shred up carrots and parsnips to give a kind of crunchy/chewy texture of rice. I know what you mean, my diet is very strict as well, but I love it.

  4. Gale Says:

    sounds delicious!! thanks Yvette! I would love to try Josies – are you talking NYC? If so, where abouts is it located – I will try it for sure.

  5. Yvette Says:

    Yah sorry, I grew up downstate, so “the city” is NYC, not Syracuse. Josie’s is really really good! There are 5 different versions of the restaurant in the city depending on location and all of them have great food. I definitely recommend it!

  6. Yvette Says:

    Sorry you asked where it’s located, http://www.josiesnyc.com/ there are a couple. Check it out


Leave a Reply

