Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Adaptation April 22, 2010

Filed under: My story — Yvette @ 3:50 pm
Tags: ,

Ever since I decided to go vegan 2 and 1/2 years ago my diet has undergone significant changes.  At first I cut out HFCS, sugar, white flour and most processed foods.  Then I began experimenting with gluten free diets and raw diets.  I experimented with going raw for a year, but about a month ago I found that it didn’t agree with my body type entirely.  This isn’t to say that I no longer eat raw foods, but am currently trying to find a balance between cooked and raw.

I read a blog about someone who had been working with a raw food diet for 30 years and finally settled on some mixture of raw and cooked.  The one thing that really struck me in his article was not to idolize any diet, if you can digest a food, then it is good for you.  So keep it simple, keep it healthy.  That is what I have been doing as of lately.

The most important thing you can do is listen to your body.  I went to see a nutritionist about a week ago because I felt I really needed some answers about my diet.  As it turns out the fact that I was on anti-biotics during most of my childhood the good bacteria in my intestines has been completely wiped out, leaving me with practically no immune system.  Luckily I eat so many veggies that my Ph level is perfect, this acts as my immune system.I have been diagnosed with “leaky-gut syndrome” which means that there are small holes in my intestines and it is easy for toxins and undigested food to leak into my bloodstream.

My nutritionist also informed me that I am allergic to chicken, eggs, wheat, chocolate, onions, wine, corn, oranges and cucumbers.  Most of the foods I am allergic to I stopped eating at least a year ago when I started to get really in touch with my diet.  Except for the oranges, which was causing most of the bloating while I was on raw foods.  I was starting to pick up on the fact that I could combine oranges with any other food, but hadn’t quite picked up on the fact that they could be an allergen.

Now I would say I am eating a gluten-free vegan diet and the amount of raw foods I eat vary from day to day.  I do have a raw smoothie every morning and I am on ProBiotics, Enzymes and L-Glutamine to help heal my intestinal lining from all the antibiotics as a child.

I am staying away from any sugars, even honey when possible.  I have been mainly using Yacon Powder because it is a sweet root and is a pre-biotic, so it helps the ProBiotics I am on.  The cooked food I have been eating is mainly whole grains (nothing with gluten and nothing processed) pretty much brown rice, wild rice and quinoa.  I have incorporated some steamed veggies and organic tofu and tempeh.  If you eat non-organic soybeans you run the risk of eating GMO foods.  EEk!

I only post my story because I have learned from other’s stories.  I feel that we can learn from one another’s experiences.  If you have any questions or advice feel free to ask or inform me!

 

3 Responses to “Adaptation”

  1. Gale Says:

    Yvette, I love this post. I love your honesty and your knowledge and your courage. I’ve changed my eating so many times over the years, from way back in the 80’s when I quit smoking and started counting calories, to the low-fat fad and then the cholesterol lowering eating which I changed several times over a 10 year span. Two years ago, I cut meat out of my diet and went to a nutritionist to help with my still-high cholesterol. She had me on a 50% veggie mostly cooked diet. (mostly cooked because of some digestive disorders) I took it to such a rigid extreme that I lost far too much weight and then got sick. Which scared me because i was SO thin. NOW, thanks to some help from you and a few other trusted people that I talk to about the subject, I feel that I am on the right track again. I love what you said about the author who said to keep it simple. Now I eat a nice mix of raw and cooked, I feel great, and I feel like I’m getting the correct amount of veggies for me – 50 – 70%. I’m still having some episodes of bloating here and there, but in reading your blog, I think it may be oranges – so thank you for that, too. Its a continued learning experience for me – but at least now it is getting easier. I find the culprits alot quicker than I used, I think becuase i look for them sooner, but also from listening to people like you. Thank you again.

  2. Yvette Says:

    I think it is important that we listen to not only ourselves but other people as well. Sometimes it is easy to get thickheaded and not take any advice at all, but other times it is easy to just blindly follow what someone tells you. I find it’s all about balance…thank you too.

  3. Gale Says:

    yes, the ‘b’-word, in all aspects of our lives!


Leave a Reply

