Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Juice Fast For Peace June 23, 2010

Filed under: Health Facts and Concerns,My story — Yvette @ 1:14 am
Tags: , ,

I recently finished a 7 day juice fast with Dr. Gabriel Cousens, one of the raw foodists who has inspired me.  7 days of nothing but green juice, the only fruit that was in the juice was lemon!  I cleared out a lot of mental and physical toxins.  It is amazing what the body can store over the years.  I am really grateful for everything that I learned from Dr. Cousens.  I feel that I will be able to use the knowledge in order to help heal my digestive problems.

Dr. Cousens indicated that sometimes we are deficient in minerals and vitamins because we can not absorb them (this is my situation).  This actually may have to do with the amount of HCl (hydrochloric acid) in our stomachs.  I am planning on incorporating this into my array of supplements.  In August I will get my blood drawn and see how my levels are doing!

***Also he highly recommended that women over 40 take HCl***  This is because the amount of acid decreases with age and the lack of it hinders the absorption of calcium.  This is the main reason for osteoporosis.  Calcium supplements are not very effective and it is much better to up the HCl acid so that you can actually absorb the calcium from your food.  You may not even be able to absorb the calcium from the supplement.  This applies to all other supplements as well.

The juice fast has also inspired me to go back to being raw.  Now that I have more knowledge I feel that I will be able to approach it better.  I also realize that when I was raw I was eating a lot of things I was allergic to, such as oranges, cucumbers and so forth.

Dr. Cousens has a nice approach to being raw.  The general guidelines are fruits, nuts and seeds for breakfast, a salad for lunch and a smoothie or blended soup for dinner.  I look forward to sharing my new recipes this summer with everyone!

 

2 Responses to “Juice Fast For Peace”

  1. Gale Says:

    I’ve enjoyed this reading. I love to talk health and food! This is very interesting and I took a peek at Dr. Cousens, who seems very cool. Thank you for sharing all of this info.

    I am finding that since I have been drinking the veggie smoothies daily (almost 4 months) that my digestive track is more sensitive to certain foods. And I still don’t have a ‘handle’ on it, but am hopeful that within the next few months I will. When I stopped eating meat, it took me over a year to feel good about my eating – now I’ve gone and changed it again (which is ok). I always try to give myself a “trip around the calendar” as I call it, for my system to feel comfortable with change.

    I do still fall into comfort foods at times, I love to eat! As long as I don’t ‘pay’ for it later!! That Mac and cheese recipe sounds delightful – something i have only eaten about once in 10 years!!!

    Look forward to your blogs! sending you love and light! and best wishes on your ‘new’ raw diet!

    • Yvette Says:

      Glad you enjoyed the post Gale! I know I’m back on the raw food for the summer and we’ll take it from there. I’m planning on posting quite a few recipes that you’ll be able to use in your Vita-Mix (four so far). Hope to see you Monday 🙂


Leave a Reply

