Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quinoa Cooking Tricks July 29, 2010

Filed under: Appetizers/Entrees,Gluten Free,Protein,Recipes — Yvette @ 1:36 am
Tags: , , ,

Right now quinoa is my favorite grain, but I have to be honest it took me a little while to cook it well.  Through trial and error I have finally got it down, so hopefully you all will benefit from my mistakes!

  1. I have found that soaking the quinoa for at least 15 minutes before cooking it is helpful.  A little advice for those of you who work, I find that if I just soak it in some water in the morning it is ready to cook when I get home in the afternoon/evening.  I just would not recommend soaking the quinoa over a day unless you plan on changing the water.
  2. Also the directions on the package usually say 1 cup quinoa cooked in 1 and 1/2 cups water.  This usually turns out to be too little water for me.  The quinoa comes out crunchy and hard, which makes it very difficult to digest.  I suggest using 1 cup quinoa to 2 cups water.

I love quinoa because it is a complete protein and a great source of good fats and iron.  When it is cooked properly it feels really light in the stomach and is easily digested.

Here is how I generally cook my quinoa (slight variation on the curried quinoa recipe I have posted before):

  • 1 cup quinoa soaked for 1 hour
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom

Combine in a pot and bring to a boil.  Then let it simmer for about 15/20 minutes.  The spices are optional, they just give the quinoa a nice flavor.  The coconut oil makes the dish nice and creamy.

 

Leave a Reply

