Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cheater Baked Beans October 13, 2010

This recipe is stolen/modified from Veganomicon.  I always have a tough time following recipes, so below is my modification.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp of coconut oil
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cans white or navy beans
  • 1/4 blackstrap molasses
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions:

  1. Mince garlic and combine with coconut oil is a medium sized pot
  2. Saute the garlic on a low heat (around 2) for at least 10 minutes
  3. Combine the remaining ingredients into the pot
  4. Let it sit for an hour occasionally stirring

These are called cheater baked beans because you are using canned beans and you’re not baking them!  There are a few reasons why I would make my own baked beans instead of buying canned ones.

First off I don’t like added sugars and it is impossible to find anything these days without added sugar.   I choose blackstrap molasses in this recipe because it contains one the highest concentrations of iron of any food (vegan or not).  Believe it or not it is right up there with liver on iron content, and much tastier!  (Honestly I wouldn’t know I’ve never had liver, but I hear it’s pretty gross)

I use a small amount of coconut oil when sauteing the garlic because you need to be really careful with heated fats.  Coconut oil is the only oil that can with stand high heats, all other oils become hydrogenated after cooking and are hazardous to your health.  Using other oils on occasion can be fine, but I would recommend regularly cooking with coconut oil.

Finally, the delicious beans!  Beans are a great vegetarian source of protein, vitamins and minerals.  Cooking them on a low heat will help break down the fibers and reduce gas.

I would recommend serving along with steamed kale and broccoli…YUM!!

 

One Response to “Cheater Baked Beans”

  1. Gale Dolan Says:

    Hi Yvette, the cheater baked beans look excellent!!! I can’t wait to try it. I have missed my old baked bean recipe and haven’t tried tweaking it. This looks fast and easy and I have wanted to incorporate the molasses into my diet. thank you!

    I miss seeing you. Hope to bump into you soon. I hope all is well with you. love and light, Gale


Leave a Reply

