Rethink.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bring the Smoothies Back June 10, 2011

I enjoy smoothies, but in the cold winter months I typically don’t eat them.  However, with the warmth of summer returning I have added them back into my diet.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 cup mango (fresh or frozen)
  • 2 tbsp. coconut butter
Throw all the ingredients in the blender and you’ll have a delicious tropical tasting smoothie.  It may look green, but it doesn’t taste green.
Currently my basic rule of thumb with smoothies is:
  1. 1 cup some type of milk (almond, soy, hemp, rice…)
  2. 1 cup spinach (you can even throw in romaine, kale, any leafy green)
  3. 1 cup tart fruit (any berry because they are lower in sugar)
  4. 1 cup sweet fruit (it’s better to use fruit to sweeten your smoothie rather than added sugar because at least you’ll be getting some nutrients, you can use mango, pineapple, dates, or banana)
  5. 2 tbsp healthy fats (coconut butter is sweet tasting, you can also use almond, peanut, or cashew butter, you can also throw in hemp seeds, sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds, but they tend to give a bitter taste, either way you’ll be giving your body some healthy fats)
 

3 Responses to “Bring the Smoothies Back”

  1. Gale Dolan Says:

    Thanks Yvette, it is so nice to hear from you!! We have continued with the smoothies since I started them, a year ago February!!! We drink them room temp, or however they come out in the winter, but I have been throwing them in the freezer for about 20 minutes lately, it cools them off nicely. I learn alot from your blogs/recipes. I have been putting 2 TBSP hemp oil in our smoothies, plus soaked nuts (I learned that from you!). I make a frozen banana smoothie that is to die for, a recipe someone gave me. I think they are really good for my sluggish digestive track too.

    I miss seeing you and wish you well, whatever you do. Love and light. Om Shanti

    • Gale Dolan Says:

      oh, yeah! not to take lightly that my smoothies are about 1/3 to 1/2 green/veggie!! I try to get us a nice balance to start our day of veggie, fruit, fat and protien. I think it took me almost a year to get a balance that works for us!!

      And now I have the juicer, too!! Loving that, too. Can’t wait til my CSA boxes begin!!

  2. Yvette Says:

    Hey Gale, thanks for commenting so quickly. I find that sometimes the smoothies don’t work for me, this usually happens during the coldest winter months, so I have to lay off of them for a while.
    Pass along the banana smoothie I’d love to try it. I miss you too, I’ll be back at some point.


Leave a Reply

